Statement June 27th 2024


38 Heads of Diplomatic Missions in the UK join together as Diplomats for Equality London and reaffirm their commitment to defending and advancing LGBTIQ rights.

We, the undersigned Heads of Diplomatic Missions in the United Kingdom, join together once again as Diplomats for Equality to support Pride in London.

We express our solidarity and support for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and all other queer persons in the United Kingdom and around the world.

Since its foundation in 2016 at the Global LGBTI Human Rights Conference in Montevideo, the Equal Rights Coalition has continuously strengthened the human rights of LGBTIQ people and promoted inclusive development in both member and non-member countries by working with civil-society organisations, multilateral organisations and activists from around the world.

We reaffirm our unwavering commitment to provide access to justice for all persons regardless of their gender identity and expression, sexual orientation or sex characteristics.

Human rights and the dignity and equality of all people are universal. Human rights are for everyone, without exception: LGBTIQ people are just as entitled to protection. The Equal Rights Coalition, through which countries collaborate to further the cause of universal and unalienable human rights for all, is one example of how states from all regions of the world can unite to improve our collective future by safeguarding each and every individual’s rights. We stand as allies to all people who wish to be who they are and love whom they love.

Many communities and individuals around the world are increasingly suffering the consequences of growing hostility and phobia directed at them because of their sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or sex characteristics. Our commitment to equality, freedom and justice for LGBTIQ people is therefore more important than ever.

We view with concern the burgeoning of anti-equal-rights movements around the world that operate in various interlinked ways, such as the many legislative attempts to criminalise advocacy for equal rights, even endangering the lives of LGBTIQ people in various jurisdictions, as well as those aimed at threatening access to and availability of gender-inclusive medical care and treatment.

We state that the protection of these rights is essential for strengthening social cohesion and democracy. We will therefore take decisive action against the

restriction of the rights of LGBTIQ people, denounce inhumane tightening of the law, and provide solidarity and assistance to those affected in the countries concerned. We will leave no one behind.

We firmly believe that inclusive and diverse countries will always be more prosperous, peaceful and secure. We are certain that only free, pluralistic societies with equal rights for all are best placed to tackle the current global and geopolitical challenges. They are best able to do so, even in uncertain times of multiple crises.

We firmly believe that justice and freedom are directly linked. Justice presupposes freedom and, conversely, freedom presupposes justice. LGBTIQ rights are based on these two essential principles.

The power of our solidarity, our networking and our collective commitment to the rights of LGBTIQ people across national borders and movements has never been more important. Our governments will continue to work together to safeguard these rights in our societies and to convince other governments to adapt their behaviour accordingly.

We recognise that civil society has always been at the forefront of the fight for equal rights. As representatives of our respective governments, we are therefore committed to supporting the fight against homophobia, biphobia, interphobia and transphobia by promoting civil society at home and around the world.

We stand, diverse yet united, ready to work together at all times with our partners from across the globe, in government and in civil society, to fight injustice and promote equal rights for all.


The Equal Rights Coalition Co-Chairs:

  • Germany: H.E. Miguel Berger
  • Mexico: H.E. Josefa González-Blanco Ortiz-Mena

Signatories (by country):

  • Albania: H.E. Uran Ferizi
  • Australia: H.E. Stephen Francis Smith, High Commissioner
  • Austria: H.E. Bernhard Wrabetz
  • Belgium: H.E. Bruno van der Pluijm
  • Brazil: H.E. Antonio de Aguiar Patriota
  • Canada: H.E. The Hon. Ralph Goodale, High Commissioner
  • Chile: H.E. Ximena Fuentes Torrijo
  • Colombia: H.E. Roy Barreras Montealegre
  • Cyprus: H.E. Kyriakos Kouros
  • Czechia: H.E. Marie Chatardova
  • Denmark: H.E. René Dinesen
  • Estonia: H.E. Viljar Lubi
  • European Union: H.E. Pedro Serrano
  • Finland: H.E. Jukka Siukosaari
  • France: H.E. Hélène Duchêne
  • Greece: H.E. Yannis Tsaousis
  • Iceland: H.E. Sturla Sigurjónsson
  • Ireland: H.E. Martin Fraser
  • Israel: H.E. Tzipi Hotovely
  • Latvia: H.E. Ivita Burmistre
  • Lithuania: Lina Zigmantaitė, Chargé d’affaires
  • Luxembourg: H.E. Georges Friden
  • Malta: H.E. Emmanuel Mallia
  • Montenegro: Nataša Jovović, Chargé d’affaires
  • The Netherlands: H.E. Karel van Oosterom
  • New Zealand: H.E. Hon Phil Goff
  • Norway: Øyvind Hernes, Chargé d’Affaires
  • Poland: H.E. Piotr Wilczek
  • Portugal: H.E. Nuno Brito
  • Slovenia: H.E. Simona Leskovar
  • Spain: H.E. José Pascual Marco
  • Sweden: H.E. Mr Stefan Gullgren
  • Switzerland: H.E. Markus Leitner
  • Thailand: H.E. Mr. Thani Thongphakdi
  • United States: H.E. Jane Hartley
  • Wallonia-Brussels (Belgium): Motonobu Kasajima

Subscribe to Canada Plus

Our bi-monthly newsletter of updates and news about Canadian arts, culture and events in the UK.